2018-2019 Lectures

We offer three official meetings each month, on the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Tuesday of every month.
 
 Workshop/Introduction,      Social evening,      & Main Lecture(Guest Speaker)

All meetings start at 20:00 and last approximately 90 minutes.

Venues

  • Tuesday, 16th October 2018.

AGM, Red Lion, Goostrey

  • Tuesday, 20th November 2018.

Dr. Lee Sproats, will be speaking on ’All about Eclipses’

  • Tuesday, 18th December 2018.

Prof. Tim O'Brien, (University of Manchester) will be speaking on ’The Transient Universe’

  • Saturday, 5th January 2018.

Dr Allan Chapman(Wadham College, Oxford) will be speaking on ’Edmond Halley, Geophysicist, Royal Navy Explorer Sea Captain and Astronomer Royal’

20:00 at Calvary Church Hall, Macclesfield. (details)

  • Tuesday, 19th February 2019.

Dr Peter Fawdon (Open University) will be speaking on 'Water, Volcanoes and Robots on Mars. '

  • Tuesday, 19th March 2019.

Dr Megan Argo (University of Central Lancashire) will be speaking on 'When Galaxies Collide!'

  • Tuesday, 16th April 2019.

TBC will be speaking on 'TBC'

  • Tuesday, 21st May 2019.

Dr Rhian Jones (University of Manchester) will be speaking on 'Asteroids '

  • Tuesday, 18th June 2019.

TBC will be speaking on 'TBC'

  • Tuesday, 16th July 2019.

Dr Mark Hadley (Macclesfield Astronomical Society) will be speaking on 'TBC '

  • Tuesday, 20th August 2019.

Annual Summer Exhibition

  • Tuesday, 17th September 2019.

Professor Isobel Hook (University of Lancaster) will be speaking on 'The Extremely Large Telescope Project. '

  • Tuesday, 22nd October 2019.

AGM, Red Lion, Goostrey

  • Tuesday, 19th November 2019.

Peter Williamson FRAS (BBC Radio Shropshire Eye on the Sky) will be speaking on 'Using remote access observatories for public education and access to off world data. '

Observing

Local observing sessions
We hold regular observing and imaging sessions at dark-sky sites across Macclesfield.

starparty

Weekend field trips
Learn more about our observing field trips where we observe the night sky in all its glory.

Top

© Macclesfield Astronomical Society 2018

This page was last modified on 20 September 2018